Vacation from YOU

I just came back from a one day vacation. I didn’t leave the house and it was amazing. For the last 6 months I have been on the go…and Sunday it came to a head. I was physically and emotionally exhausted and just needed an escape. So I went on vacation. Blackberry OFF! Laptop OFF! The only way to contact me today is to ring my door bell and see if I come to the door.

The point is that social media and running a small business is demanding. Six months of networking (offline and online), building business and a day job take a toll. It was one of the best days of my life. I went off the map. It’s funny that people notice that you have gone underground for less than 24 hours.

I turned my phone on too several “where are you” messages. What if this was 10 years ago. No one would have cared! Technology has changed the pace of communications. Moreover, the Internet Revolution has changed the way young people build relationships and communicate with everyone else.

I could go on about the generational divide in social media but I will leave that for another conversation. Taking a break from the hustle and bustle that is 2008 can be a good thing. It’s Monday and I’m focused; the time that I sacrificed was time well spent.

Leave a Reply

