A Moment with @Cmajor

cmajorChristine A. Major is becoming quite the local Celebrity on Twitter.  A couple months ago I got a chance to meet up with this jack of all trades.  Christine is truly a delight…she just seems to light up the room.  If you get a chance ask her to show you some of her break dancing moves.

@CMajor Has been in Technology PR for the last decade but her her most impressive accomplishment is her stand up comedy (http://www.youtube.com/user/kevinneales).  I had a great time interviewing Christine and I look forward to her new blog that just launched (http://web.me.com/christinemajor/CMajor/Blog/Blog.html).

Enjoy

Do you have any comments about winter in New England?


Yes, I do have a comment about winter in New England – It sucks and I am so over it. Bring on the summer!

I heard you got jokes…where do you get your powers?


I derive most of my material from real-life situations and they usually all involve my husband.


My best material usually comes to me right before I fall asleep which can be a problem since I really want to sleep, but the joke is running in my head and I can either choose to get out of bed and write it down or go to sleep and hope I remember it in the morning. Unfortunately I rarely like to get out of bed once I am tucked in and I always forget what the joke was once morning comes so I am pretty much out of luck and new material most of the time.

So its time to talk about style…How has your style evolved….and what item do you wish you could bring back?


I actually need some help with my style. I am what some would call “style challenged.” Really – ask some of my friends. Sure, they won’t tell me to my face that I haven’t the slightest clue about style, but I know they are thinking that…..I just know it.


I actually would prefer to wear jeans and a t-shirt most of the time.


If I could bring a style back it would be the clothes from the early 60’s – Mad Men style. I love the classic look.

What makes a man sexy?


One that showers and is clean 


Actually, besides the clean part (which is really, really important), what I find sexy in a man is a great sense of humor, confidence and someone that is motivated and gets things done (like the laundry, dishes and vacuuming).


Oh, and if he can play the guitar and sing, that will usually do it for me.


What is your favorite word?


Yes

What excited you most about the next 6 months?


I will be heading to South by Southwest – SXSW for the first time in March and looking forward to meeting many new people and learning as much as I can. I also heard there were a few parties going on – it should be a swell time.


While it may not seem like it now, summer is coming. I can’t wait for the longer days so I can get outside more and enjoy the warm weather and hanging out with my family and friends.


What turns you on about technology?


Being a part of “the next big thing” is really what turns me on about technology.


I have been working in high-technology public relations for 11 years and have had the opportunity to represent and work with all types of companies from boot-strapped start-ups to large public corporations. Working in tech, there is never a dull moment as things are constantly changing and evolving.


So you have become a local Twitter Celebrity…How important is Twitter to you?


I am? Well, if you say so then it is so 


Twitter has been a big part of my life. It’s been my source of information, my watercooler and, most importantly, it has broken down the barriers to relationship building by making it so easy to communicate with people on a more personal level.


Where else can you chat with thousands of people at once and get instant answers and responses? Where else can you have personal conversations with industry influencers like Chris Brogan, Gary Vaynerchuk and even MC Hammer? You can’t!


This is why Twitter is so important to me. By combining the traditional means of networking (conferences, events, etc) with social networking tools like Twitter, building those strong relationships is so much easier and less threatening.



Can you tell me how Social Media has changed the way you do business?


For my job in public relations, social media has changed everything. I am very fortunate to be a part of an agency that is way ahead of the curve when it comes to social media adoption. Social media has been a part of our service offering for quite some time along with the traditional forms of public relations.


We are also all social media junkies ourselves. We don’t just talk the talk – we live it too. This personal experience is what helps us help our clients successfully adopt and use social media for their business. It has been extremely exciting to be a part of this evolution.


One Question for me

When did you first come to realize you had the power to make it snow with your dancing?

I have been wishing for snow for years…it hasnt been until receltly that I have been able to communicate with the snow gods through dance…its really something else.

One response to “A Moment with @Cmajor

  1. Great interview! Can not wait for the blog 🙂 Good insightful questions and answers. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

